Full MotoGP FP2 times at Misano

Maverick Vinales has ended Friday practice fastest overall as all four Yamaha riders claimed a top five spot at Misano in preparation for the San Marino MotoGP.

The Monster Yamaha rider produced a 1m 32.775s during the late soft tyre time attacks to grab top spot to beat Quartararo by just 0.057s on the timesheet.

Quartararo endured an eventful FP2 with two hairy moments losing control of the front end of his Petronas Yamaha bike but the French rider did avoid tipping off his M1.

Marc Marquez disrupted the all-Yamaha top order by taking third place for Repsol Honda despite failing to improve during his final run on the soft rear tyre. Marquez is sticking with an aluminium frame with his RC213V while team-mate Jorge Lorenzo is trialling the carbon fibre-covered frame.

Home favourite Valentino Rossi grabbed fourth place on the factory Yamaha equipped with its new twin exhaust and front brake disc cover, as Franco Morbidelli rounded out the stellar session for Yamaha in fifth place for the satellite squad.

Pol Espargaro impressed to charge up to sixth place for Red Bull KTM during his late time attack to shuffle factory Ducati duo Danilo Petrucci to seventh and Andrea Dovizioso to eighth in FP2.

Silverstone race-winner Alex Rins surged to ninth place for Suzuki late on, with LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow completing the top 10 in FP2 but he remains outside the automatic Q2 spots on the combined times.

Aleix Espargararo just missed out in 11th place for Aprilia but ahead of Red Bull KTM’s Johann Zarco who comes into this race weekend with a three-place grid penalty for taking out Miguel Oliveira at Silverstone.

Takaaki Nakgami slots into 13th place for LCR Honda in front of Pramac Ducati’s Francesco Bagnaia, wildcard Michele Pirro and Jack Miller on the second Pramac.

Jorge Lorenzo briefly surged towards the top 10 before the rest of the FP2 late laps came in to see him drop back to 17th place for Repsol Honda. The five-time world champion did improve overall to close out the day 1.3s off the front-running pace havign been over two seconds off the pace in FP1.

With Tito Rabat in 18th for Avintia Ducati, Joan Mir struggled on his injury comeback in 19th for Suzuki as Oliveira, Andrea Iannone (Aprilia), Karel Abraham (Avintia) and Hafizh Syahrin (Tech3) completed the times.



Loading Comments...