Marc Marquez won a thrilling MotoGP season-opener in Qatar after holding off a charging tenth-on-the-grid Valentino Rossi by just 0.259s.

Rossi and Marquez (who was using the harder rear tyre) exchanged the lead repeatedly in the closing stages, before a mistake free final lap from Marquez kept Rossi at bay. Dani Pedrosa completed the podium.

Jorge Lorenzo, winner in Qatar for the past two seasons, rocketed into the lead at turn one - then crashed out after losing the front of his Yamaha on entry to the penultimate corner.

14 laps later Stefan Bradl suffered the same fate while leading, leaving a front group of Rossi, Marquez, Pedrosa, Bradley Smith and Alvaro Bautista.

Smith and Bautista both fell, leaving Pedrosa to claim a safe third and helping Aleix Espargaro take a career best fourth place on the new Open class Forward Yamaha.

CLICK HERE for pictures from the grand prix...

1.Marc MarquezESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V)42m 40.561s
2.Valentino RossiITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)42m 40.820s | +0.259s
3.Dani PedrosaESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V)42m 43.931s | +3.370s
4.Aleix EspargaroESP NGM Forward Racing (Forward Yamaha)42m 52.184s | +11.623s
5.Andrea DoviziosoITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici)42m 52.720s | +12.159s
6.Cal CrutchlowGBR Ducati Team (Desmosedici)43m 9.087s | +28.526s
7.Scott ReddingGBR Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RCV1000R)43m 13.154s | +32.593s
8.Nicky HaydenUSA Drive M7 Aspar (RCV1000R)43m 13.189s | +32.628s
9.Colin EdwardsUSA NGM Forward Racing (Forward Yamaha)43m 20.108s | +39.547s
10.Andrea IannoneITA Pramac Racing (Desmosedici)43m 23.921s | +43.360s
11.Hiroshi AoyamaJPN Drive M7 Aspar (RCV1000R)43m 27.156s | +46.595s
12.Yonny HernandezCOL Pramac Racing (Desmosedici)43m 27.249s | +46.688s
13.Karel AbrahamCZE Cardion AB Motoracing (RCV1000R)43m 31.142s | +50.581s
14.Danilo PetrucciITA IodaRacing Project (ART)43m 43.688s | +1m 3.127s
15.Broc ParkesAUS Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART)43m 54.947s | +1m 14.386s
16.Michael LavertyGBR Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART)44m 13.154s | +1m 32.593s
17.Mike Di MeglioFRA Avintia Racing (Avintia)44m 16.646s | +1m 36.085s
Alvaro BautistaESP Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RC213V)DNF
Bradley SmithGBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)DNF
Pol EspargaroESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)DNF
Stefan BradlGER LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V)DNF
Hector BarberaESP Avintia Racing (Avintia)DNF
Jorge LorenzoESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)DNF

Blue = Factory - Control ECU hardware, unique manufacturer software.
20 litres of race fuel, 5 engine changes for the season. All engines identical throughout the year within the same team (development freeze).Black = Factory (with concessions) - Control ECU hardware, unique manufacturer software.
Currently only Ducati, but technically applicable to any Factory manufacturer that has not achieved a dry win the previous year, or any new MotoGP manufacturer.
24 litres of race fuel, 12 engine changes for the season. No engine development freeze, plus the same softer rear tyre allocation and extra testing opportunities as the Open category. Fuel to be reduced to 22 litres should Ducati achieve a race win, two second places or three (dry) podiums during 2014. If Ducati claims three wins this season they will also lose the softer rear tyre. All other concessions confirmed until start of single ECU era in 2016.Red = Open - Full control ECU system, hardware and software.
24 litres of race fuel, 12 engine changes for the season. No engine development freeze, a softer rear tyre allocation and more testing opportunities relative to the Factory option.

For the latest updates follow the NEW MotoGP Twitter page


Loading Comments...