Marquez wins the San Marino MotoGP at Misano after a daring last-lap showdown with rookie Quartararo.

Quartararo led for most of the race, albeit shadowed by Marquez, who finally attacked at the start of the final lap.

Marquez then passed the Petronas Yamaha for a second time, but Quartararo closed back in... only to almost clip Marquez's rear wheel at Turn 14!

"I knew it wasn't necessary to win because Rins was out and Dovi far. But honestly, yesterday was extra motivation, extra push for the race," said Marquez, referring to the controversial clash with home star Rossi in qualifying.

"It's nice to win in Italy, but even nicer to lead by 93 points in the championship."

Pole starter Vinales took the early lead then held third for most of the race, with the leading pair just out of reach.

Monster Yamaha team-mate Rossi just got the better of Quartararo's team-mate Morbidelli in a fight for fourth in front of their local fans.

Zarco had a three-place grid penalty for his collision with Oliveira at Silverstone. Oliveira was carrying a shoulder tendon injury from the incident.

Iannone missed the race after injuring his shoulder in practice.

The Aragon Grand Prix takes place next weekend.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

San Marino MotoGP - Race Results
1Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)42m 25.163s
2Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)*+0.903s
3Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.636s
4Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+12.660s
5Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+12.774s
6Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (GP19)+13.744s
7Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+20.050s
8Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)*+22.512s
9Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP19)+26.554s
10Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (GP19)+31.456s
11Johann ZarcoFRARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+32.388s
12Aleix EspargaroSPAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+34.477s
13Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)+35.325s
14Jorge LorenzoSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+47.247s
15Hafizh SyahrinMALRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)+62.280s
16Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*+67.831s
17Karel AbrahamCZEReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)+84.666s
18Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+1 lap
 Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)DNF
 Michele PirroITADucati Team (GP19)DNF
 Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)DNF
 Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP18)*DNF

* Rookie.

By Peter McLaren