Marquez is an eight-time world champion after winning the 2019 MotoGP title in Sunday's Thai Grand Prix.

The Repsol Honda star, who needed to score at least two points more than Dovizioso to secure a sixth premier-class crown (with four rounds to go), stalked rookie Quartararo for much of the race.

Twice Marquez ran wide when trying to pass Quartararo into the Turn 3 hairpin, before making the same move stick on the last lap.

But Quartararo wasn't finished and dived inside Marquez into the final corner - only for Marquez to repeat last year's move on Dovizioso by cutting back under the Frenchman on the exit to win by 0.171s!

Vinales completed the podium after again losing ground in the early laps.

Miller stalled on the grid and had to start from pit lane.

KTM's Espargaro was returning from a left wrist fracture at Aragon.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

Thailand MotoGP - Race Results
1Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)39m 36.223s
2Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)*+0.171s
3Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.380s
4Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (GP19)+11.218s
5Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+11.449s
6Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+14.466s
7Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)*+18.729s
8Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+19.162s
9Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (GP19)+23.425s
10Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+29.423s
11Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP18)*+30.103s
12Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)+33.216s
13Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+35.667s
14Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP19)+39.736s
15Andrea IannoneITAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+40.038s
16Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*+40.136s
17Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)+44.589s
18Jorge LorenzoSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+54.723s
19Karel AbrahamCZEReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)+56.012s
20Hafizh SyahrinMALRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)+61.431s
 Aleix EspargaroSPAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)DNF
 Mika KallioFINRed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)DNF

* Rookie.