Marquez leads a damp final practice for the Japanese MotoGP, which saw riders switch from wets to slicks on the drying track.

Rabat was absent after injuring his wrist this morning.

Qualifying 1, for those outside the top ten after third free practice, will now get underway.

Guintoli is making his latest Suzuki wild-card appearance, but was disqualified from the Friday results due to use of a 2020 engine spec.

Nakagami is taking part in his final event of the season before undergoing shoulder surgery. He will be replaced at the following 2019 rounds by Johann Zarco.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

Japanese MotoGP - Free Practice (4) Results
1Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)1'48.940s12/12303k
2Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.342s11/11298k
3Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)*+1.734s12/12297k
4Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)+1.807s10/10302k
5Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.808s12/12298k
6Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+2.366s9/9303k
7Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+2.408s12/12304k
8Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (GP19)+2.517s12/12307k
9Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+2.637s8/8297k
10Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP18)*+2.677s12/12302k
11Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (GP19)+2.719s8/8302k
12Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP19)+3.128s9/9306k
13Sylvain GuintoliFRASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+3.263s6/6299k
14Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*+3.471s13/13298k
15Hafizh SyahrinMALRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)+3.992s12/12295k
16Mika KallioFINRed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+3.994s9/9297k
17Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)*+5.754s7/7298k
18Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+6.122s9/12293k
19Karel AbrahamCZEReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)+6.162s8/8298k
20Aleix EspargaroSPAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+6.711s6/10298k
21Andrea IannoneITAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+6.905s8/9298k
22Jorge LorenzoSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+8.077s4/4294k
 Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)No Time0/00

* Rookie.

Fastest Friday Time:
Fabio Quartararo FRA Yamaha 1m 44.764s

Official Motegi MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 43.790s (2015)
Fastest race lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 45.350s (2014)

By Peter McLaren