Update 2: Fabio Quartararo dropped back to 15th again...

Update 1: Fabio Quartararo has his fastest Qualifying 1 lap reinstated, after being deleted due to yellow flags, and will start 13th instead of 15th.

Francesco Bagnaia leads an all-Ducati front row during qualifying for the Emilia Romagna MotoGP at Misano and will start 14 places ahead of title rival Fabio Quartararo, who didn't make it past Qualifying 1.

After the first slick tyre laps of the weekend in final practice, track conditions continued to improve. Having fought through Q1, Bagnaia and Iker Lecuona used their track knowledge to set the pace at the start of Qualifying 2.

Bagnaia remained fastest to the end, being joined on the front row by team-mate Jack Miller and rookie Luca Marini, who enjoyed his best qualifying to date on the 2019 spec bike.

Repsol Honda's Pol Espargaro was best of the rest in fourth after team-mate Marc Marquez saved an early highside but then kicked the gravel in frustration after a fall at the end of session.

Bagnaia, winner of the previous Misano round, can at least delay Quartararo's title celebrations if he beats the Monster Yamaha rider - who will start from just 15th - by three points or more on Sunday.

Jorge Martin fell from his Pramac Ducati twice, with Lecuona and Tech3 team-mate Danilo Petrucci, plus Johann Zarco also hitting the deck.

Valentino Rossi will start from last place in his final Italian round before retirement.

Bagnaia won last month's first Misano round ahead of Quartararo and Enea Bastianini. The tyre allocation is the same for this weekend but after rain throughout Friday and then Saturday morning, Sunday is predicted to be dry.

Aprilia wild-card Lorenzo Savadori has been ruled of the remainder of this event, and a planned Portimao wild-card, after fracturing his collarbone in FP3.

Emilia Romagna MotoGP, Misano - Full Qualifying Results
1Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Team (GP21)1'33.045s3/9299k
2Jack MillerAUSDucati Team (GP21)+0.025s7/9301k
3Luca MariniITASky VR46 Avintia Ducati (GP19)*+0.085s9/9296k
4Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.268s8/9298k
5Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.394s8/9296k
6Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.481s7/7293k
7Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.805s6/8295k
8Iker LecuonaSPAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+0.848s6/6294k
9Danilo PetrucciITAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+1.095s6/7292k
10Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP21)+1.642s5/6300k
11Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+1.918s9/9298k
12Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP21)*+51.586s2/2298k
 Qualifying 1:     
13Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)1'34.418s8/9298k
14Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)1'34.454s9/9297k
15Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)1'34.476s8/9295k
16Enea BastianiniITAAvintia Ducati (GP19)*1'35.236s8/8294k
17Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)1'35.641s8/9298k
18Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)1'35.683s5/5292k
19Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)1'35.835s5/9298k
20Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)1'36.478s6/8294k
21Andrea DoviziosoITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)1'36.639s9/9289k
22Michele PirroITADucati Team (GP21)1'37.88s3/5295k
23Valentino RossiITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)1'38.261s8/9290k
24Lorenzo SavadoriITAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)*No Time0/00

* Rookie

Official Misano MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Maverick Vinales SPA Yamaha 1m 31.007s (2020)
Fastest race lap:
Enea Bastianini ITA Ducati 1m 32.242s(2021)

By Peter McLaren