Federico Caricasulo topped the opening WorldSSP practice session at Magny-Cours ahead of former GMT94 Yamaha team-mate Jules Cluzel. 

WorldSSP Magny-Cours, France - Free Practice Results (1)
1Federico CaricasuloSPABiblion Yamaha Motoxracing1:41.480s
2Jules CluzelFRAGMT94 Yamaha+0.085s
3Niki TuuliFINMV Agusta Corsa Clienti+0.181s
4Andy VerdoiaFRAGMT94 Yamaha+0.239s
5Philipp OettlGERKawasaki Puccetti Racing+0.246s
6Steven OdendaalSAEvan Bros Yamaha+0.380s
7Valentin DebiseFRAGMT94 Yamaha+0.457s
8Dominique AegerterSWITen Kate Racing Yamaha+0.508s
9Can OncuTURKawasaki Puccetti Racing+0.549s
10Randy KrummenacherSWIEAB Racing Yamaha+1.040s
11Luca BernardiSMRCM Racing Yamaha+1.057s
12Kevin ManfrediITAAltogo Yamaha Racing+1.117s
13Michel FabrizioITAG.A.P Motozoo Puccetti Kawasaki Racing+1.189s
14Raffaele De RosaITAOrelac Racing Kawasaki1.377s
15Manuel GonzalezSPAYamaha Parkingo Racing+1.601s
16Stephane FrossardSWIJura Vitesse Moto Team Yamaha+1.645s
17Unai OrradreSPAYamaha MS Racing+1.849s
18Christoffer BergmanSWEWoicik Racing yamaha+1.896s
19Peter SebestyenHUNEvan Bros Yamaha+1.920s
20Dani ValleSPAYamaha MS Racing+2.156s
21Marcel BrennerSUIVFT Racing Yamaha+2.238s
22Vertti TakalaFINKallio Racing Yamaha+2.276s
23Hannes SoomerESTKallio Racing Yamaha+2.295s
24Hikari OkuboJAPG.A.P Motozoo Puccetti Kawasaki Racing+2.322s
25Leonardo TacciniITAOrelac Racing Kawasaki+2.458s
26Galang Hendra PratamaINDTen Kate Racing Yamaha+2.745s
27David Sanchis MartinezSPAWRP Wepol Yamaha Racing+2.950s
28Maria HerreraSPABiblion Yamaha Motoxracing+3.159s
29Luigi MontellaITAChiodo Racing Yamaha+3.687s
30Vincent FalconeFRATFC Racing Yamaha+3.875s
31Eduardo Montero HuertaSPADK Motorsport Yamaha+5.060s
32Federico FuligniITAVFT Racing Yamaha+6.213s

After a damp opening WorldSSP300 and WorldSBK FP1 at Magny-Cours, WorldSSP riders certainly got the better of the morning conditions as bright sunshine was unrelenting. 

It was Caricasulo who led the way for most of FP1, while wildcard rider Andy Verdoia challenged the Italian on more than one occasion. 

Cluzel then put in back-to-back quick laps as the checkered flag dropped to go fastest, however, Caricasulo responded with a 1:41.480s - 0.085s quicker than Cluzel as Can Oncu suffered a late fall. 

Championship leader Dominique Aegerter could only manage eighth on what was his first session at Magny-Courss, while second in the standings Steven Odendaal was sixth fastest.