World Supersport San Juan, Argentina - Free Practice Results (2)

Results from free practice two, round 11 of the 2021 World Supersport Championship in San Juan, Argentina.
Jules Cluzel, Argentina WorldSSP, 15 October 2021
Jules Cluzel, Argentina WorldSSP, 15 October 2021
© Gold and Goose

Jules Cluzel finished close to eight tenths clear of the rest of the World Supersport competition in what was a stunning FP2 for the French rider. 

After leading the way early on, Dominique Aegerter was replaced at the top of the timesheets by race one winner at Portimao, Cluzel. 

The GMT94 Yamaha rider’s stint at the front lasted only a few minutes though, as Aegerter responded with a 1:42.916s - 11 thousandths of a second quicker. 

Aegerter, who has a chance to claim the Supersport title this weekend went even quicker on his next lap, while Manuel Gonzalez lost two laps good enough for P2 due to exceeding track limits.

Gonzalez finally kept an improved lap at the third time of asking, however, he remained in third this time around - +0.094s behind Aegerter. 

A stunning effort with ten minutes to go saw Cluzel regain top spot from Aegerter, while Gonzalez also jumped ahead of the Swiss rider for second. Cluzel then improved again to go underneath the 1m 42s barrier with a lap that put him close to eight tenths clear of Gonzalez. 

World Supersport San Juan, Argentina - Free Practice Results (2)
1Jules CluzelFRAGMT94 Yamaha1:41.926s
2Manuel GonzalezSPAYamaha Parkingo Racing+0.795s
3Dominique AegerterSWITen Kate Racing Yamaha+0.907s
4Peter SebestyenHUNEvan Bros Yamaha+1.015s
5Niki TuuliFINMV Agusta Corsa Clienti+1.070s
6Glenn Van StraalenNEDEAB Racing Yamaha+1.159s
7Raffaele De RosaITAOrelac Racing Kawasaki+1.171s
8Steven OdendaalSAEvan Bros Yamaha+1.198s
9Can OncuTURKawasaki Puccetti Racing+1.236s
10Hannes SoomerESTKallio Racing Yamaha+1.254s
11Valentin DebiseFRAGMT94 Yamaha+1.315s
12Marcel BrennerSUIVFT Racing Yamaha+1.481s
13Vertti TakalaFINKallio Racing Yamaha+1.539s
14Unai OrradreSPAYamaha MS Racing+1.607s
15Philipp OettlGERKawasaki Puccetti Racing+1.876s
16Andres GonzalesARGVFT Racing Yamaha+2.095s
17Sheridan MoraisPORWojcik Racing Team+2.484s
18Leonardo TacciniITAOrelac Racing Kawasaki+3.657s
19Jeffrey BuisBELG.A.P Motozoo Puccetti Kawasaki Racing+6.197s
20Matias PetrattiARGYamaha MS Racing+6.753s

Free Practice One

World Supersport championship leader Dominique Aegerter set a blistering pace in FP1 to finish fastest from Manuel Gonzalez. 

Soon-to-be Moto2 rider Gonzalez led the way during the opening stages of World Supersport free practice one, while title contenders Aegerter and Steven Odendaal were fifth and sixth. 

Puccetti Kawasaki rider Can Oncu was the first to better Gonzalez’ top time, before Aegerter then went half a second clear with just over 20 minutes remaining. 

Gonzalez looked set to regain top spot with his final effort of the session, but the Spaniard was held up in sector four and instead had to settle for P2. 

The margin from Aegerter to Gonzalez looked to be a substantial one as the Ten Kate Yamaha rider improved by a further four tenths on his last lap, however, that time was later deleted due to exceeding track limits - +0.048s was instead the gap. 

Read More