Jenson Button has taken a fourth win in five Formula One races after leading home Rubens Barrichello to a one-two finish in the Spanish Grand Prix.

Button followed Barrichello through the opening stages of the race but the decision to run the Brazilian on a three-stop strategy as opposed to a two-stop for Button proved to be the decisive moment as the Briton extended his advantage in the championship standings.

Barrichello came home 13 seconds behind in second place, while Mark Webber produced an impressive performance to come through to take third place for Red Bull Racing.

The Australian's team-mate Sebastian Vettel dropped behind Felipe Massa at the start and spent the majority of the race stuck behind the Ferrari; only getting ahead in the closing laps when it became apparent that Massa would need to slow to save fuel in order to get the finish after his car didn't receive its full fuel load on its second stop.

Such was Massa's lack of pace in the final laps that he was also powerless to keep fifth place as Fernando Alonso claimed the position on the final lap, with the Brazilian just holding on to sixth - despite completing his final lap some 13 seconds slower than the chasing Nick Heidfeld in seventh. Nico Rosberg rounded out the points scorers for Williams in eighth.

World Champion Lewis Hamilton had to settle for ninth ahead of the Toyota of Timo Glock, with Robert Kubica, Nelson Piquet, Kazuki Nakajima and Giancarlo Fisichella completing the finishers.

Heikki Kovalainen and Kimi Raikkonen both retired with mechanical issues while a four-car accident on lap one put Jarno Trulli, Adrian Sutil and Toro Rosso pair Sebastien Buemi and Sebastien Bourdais out of the race.

Full report to follow...