Cal Crutchlow become the first British rider to win premier-class grand prix since Barry Sheene in 1981!

The Englishman was as low as 15th in the early stages of the wet race, but later benefited from choosing the hard front and hard rear tyres in spectacular fashion.

Valentino Rossi likewise struggled on the hard rear in the early stages before climbing back up the order to second place, with Marc Marquez completing the podium in third.

Ducati riders Andrea Iannone, Andrea Dovizioso and Scott Redding formed the lead group for most of the race. However all three would later suffer problems with the soft front tyre.

like Rossi, Crutchlow and Loris Baz, reigning champion Jorge Lorenzo also struggled early on with the hard wet rear tyre - but then came into the pits just as they were starting to perform better than the soft.

The Spaniard left on his slick bike, but - as Bradley Smith had already found out - the track was too wet and Lorenzo soon returned and got back on his wet bike.

Jack Miller, winner in the wet at Assen, missed his second race in a row due to a hairline fracture of the T6 vertebrae last weekend.

An official test will be held at the circuit on Monday....

1.Cal CrutchlowGBR LCR Honda (RC213V)47m 44.290s2.Valentino RossiITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)47m 51.588s3.Marc MarquezESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V)47m 53.877s4.Loris BazFRA Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2)47m 56.848s5.Hector BarberaESP Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2)47m 57.383s6.Eugene LavertyIRL Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2)47m 58.102s7.Danilo PetrucciITA Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15)48m 7.704s8.Andrea IannoneITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP)48m 8.852s9.Maverick Vi?alesESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)48m 8.871s10.Tito RabatESP Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)*48m 21.421s11.Yonny HernandezCOL Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2)48m 24.201s12.Dani PedrosaESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V)48m 25.387s13.Pol EspargaroESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)48m 27.492s14.Stefan BradlGER Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)48m 29.977s15.Scott ReddingGBR Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15)48m 46.491s16.Alvaro BautistaESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)49m 3.131s17.Jorge LorenzoESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)+1 lap
Andrea DoviziosoITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP)DNF
Bradley SmithGBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)DNF
Aleix EspargaroESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)DNF

Blue Name = No Concessions.
7 engine changes for the season. Engines must be identical throughout season within same team (development freeze). 5 days of private testing.Black Name = Concessions.
9 engine changes. No engine development freeze. Unlimited private testing.* Rookie

Live Updates: Follow @Crash_MotoGP

By Peter McLaren


Loading Comments...