Cal Crutchlow has been ruled out of the remainder of the Australian MotoGP round after suffering a fractured right ankle in an FP2 crash.

Alvaro Bautista stands in for Jorge Lorenzo at the factory Ducati squad, with Mike Jones taking up Bautista’s spot at the Angel Nieto Racing Ducati squad as a replacement rider for this weekend. Karel Abraham is on Bautista’s GP17, with Jones on Abraham’s GP16.

Tito Rabat is still recovering from leg fractures at Silverstone and again replaced by WorldSBK rider Jordi Torres. Torres has the GP16 machines of Simeon, who is on Rabat's GP17s. Full Qualifying results from the 2018 Australain MotoGP at Phillip Island, round 17 of 19.


  1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 29.199s
  2. Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 29.509s +0.301s
  3. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 1m 29.705s +0.506s
  4. Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 29.712s +0.513s
  5. Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 30.026s +0.827s
  6. Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (GP17) 1m 30.140s +0.941s
  7. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 30.270s +1.071s
  8. Danilo Petrucci ITA Pramac Ducati (GP18) 1m 30.328s +1.129s
  9. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP18) 1m 30.519s +1.320s
  10. Hafizh Syahrin MAL Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 30.593s +1.394s
  11. Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 30.640s +1.441s
  12. Alvaro Bautista ESP Ducati Team (GP18) 1m 32.367s +3.168s

    Grid positions determined by Qualifying 1 results

  13. Karel Abraham CZE Angel Nieto Team (GP17) 1m 30.174s
  14. Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V)* 1m 30.452s
  15. Franco Morbidelli ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 1m 30.518s
  16. Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 30.646s
  17. Xavier Simeon ESP Reale Avintia (GP17)* 1m 30.679s
  18. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 30.770s
  19. Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 30.911s
  20. Scott Redding GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 31.958s
  21. Thomas Luthi SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 1m 31.141s
  22. Jordi Torres SPA Reale Avintia (GP16) 1m 31.309s
  23. Mike Jones AUS Angel Nieto Team (GP16) 1m 32.639s

Ruled out by injury

Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V)


Most successful riders in MotoGP history!