Rins holds off charging rookie Marquez to win the Aragon MotoGP, becoming the eighth different winner of the season, while Mir completes a near-perfect day for Suzuki with third place and the world championship lead.

Previous title leader Quartararo slotted into an early second behind Vinales but when the Yamahas began to struggle for grip, Quartararo plummeted down the order and ended up outside the points. The Frenchman later said he had front tyre pressure issues.

Mir, Quartararo, Vinales and Dovizioso are now covered by just 15 points - Full Championship standings.

Valentino Rossi was forced to withdraw from this weekend's event after a positive Covid test and will also miss next weekend's second Aragon round.

HRC test rider Bradl is again replacing injured reigning world champion Marc Marquez.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

Aragon MotoGP, MotorLand - Race Results
1Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)41m 54.391s
2Alex MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)*+0.263s
3Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+2.644s
4Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+2.880s
5Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+4.570s
6Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+4.756s
7Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (GP20)+8.639s
8Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)+8.913s
9Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP20)+9.390s
10Johann ZarcoFRAReale Avintia (GP19)+9.617s
11Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)*+13.200s
12Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM (RC16)+13.689s
13Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+14.598s
14Iker LecuonaSPARed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*+15.291s
15Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (GP20)+15.941s
16Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)+18.284s
17Stefan BradlGERRepsol Honda (RC213V)+20.136s
18Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+21.498s
19Bradley SmithGBRAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+25.300s
20Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia (GP19)+25.558s
 Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP20)DNF

* Rookie.

By Peter McLaren