After Friday's Qatar Shakedown - featuring test riders, rookies and riders from Concession manufacturer Aprilia - the Official test, open to all riders, began at 2pm on Saturday.

With the Sepang test cancelled, today is the first time most riders have been on a MotoGP bike since the chequered flag waved at Portimao last November.

Joan Mir and Suzuki are starting their title defence, while Saturday marks the debut of Pol Espargaro at Repsol Honda and Danilo Petrucci at Tech3 KTM, who were the first full-time riders on track today.

Other riders changing teams but not machines include Fabio Quartararo at Monster Yamaha, Valentino Rossi at Petronas Yamaha, Jack Miller and Francesco Bagnaia at Ducati Team, Johann Zarco at Pramac Ducati, Alex Marquez at LCR Honda and Miguel Oliveira at Red Bull KTM.

The MotoGP regulars are joined by Factory test riders, including Shakedown pace setter Stefan Bradl (Honda) - also substituting for the injured Marc Marquez - new Yamaha signing Cal Crutchlow and 31-time MotoGP race winner Dani Pedrosa (KTM).

Crutchlow is sharing M1s with Yamaha's Japanese test riders Katsuyuki Nakasuga and Kohta Nozane. The three bikes, which appear to include both the 2019 (A-Spec) and 2020 (Factory-Spec) models, are labelled '#T1', '#T2' and '#T3'. Official timing only lists the bike, not the rider.

Testing takes place from 2pm to 9pm on Saturday and Sunday, followed by ten minutes reserved for practice starts, but conditions are again very blustery...

CLICK HERE for updates for the 2021 Qatar Test

2021 Qatar MotoGP test times - Saturday (6pm)
1^6Aleix EspargaroITAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)1m 55.259s22/22
2˅1Stefan BradlGERRepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.103s20/23
3^7Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.537s34/34
4˅1Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.551s29/30
5^3Valentino RossiITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.634s25/25
6N/AMaverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.654s12/15
7˅5Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.913s28/30
8˅4Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+1.042s32/40
9=Jack MillerAUSDucati Team (GP21)+1.083s16/16
10˅5Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.148s14/23
11˅5Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP21)+1.302s14/27
12^10Yamaha Test2N/AYamaha Test Rider (YZR-M1)+1.477s11/11
13˅2Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+1.489s18/27
14˅2Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Team (GP21)+1.587s21/22
15N/AJoan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+1.698s7/7
16=Iker LecuonaSPAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+1.714s27/35
17^1Danilo PetrucciITAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+1.926s37/37
18˅5Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)+2.036s14/15
19^2Luca MariniITASky VR46 Avintia (GP19)*+2.076s25/26
20=Sylvain GuintoliFRASuzuki Test Rider (GSX-RR)+2.298s17/24
21˅4Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP21)*+2.335s15/15
22˅8Lorenzo SavadoriITAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)*+2.353s12/23
23˅8Dani PedrosaSPAKTM Test Rider (RC16)+2.358s14/20
24˅5Enea BastianiniITAAvintia Esponsorama (GP19)*+2.767s24/24
25˅2Michele PirroITADucati Test Rider (GP21)+3.658s16/16
26˅2Yamaha Test1N/AYamaha Test Rider (YZR-M1)+3.851s15/15
27˅2Yamaha Test3N/AYamaha Test Rider (YZR-M1)+4.034s10/11
28N/AAlex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+4.235s3/3
29˅3Takuya TsudaJPNSuzuki Test Rider (GSX-RR)+4.434s26/26

* Rookie

^X Rider is X positions higher than previous hour.
= Rider is same position as previous hour.
˅X Rider is X positions lower than previous hour.

2021 Qatar Shakedown Test:
Best lap:
Stefan Bradl GER Honda 1m 55.614s

Official Qatar MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 53.380s (2019)
Fastest race lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 54.927s (2016)

By Peter McLaren



Loading Comments...