The 2022 Sepang MotoGP Shakedown test - open to rookies, test riders and Aprilia - concluded on Wednesday with Maverick Vinales edging out team-mate Aleix Espargaro with the first 1m 58s lap of the year, late on the final day.

Aprilia podium finisher Espargaro had skipped the opening two days, then made an instant impact by leading the timing screens for most of Wednesday ahead of Vinales (who also rode yesterday).

Rookies Raul Fernandez and Marco Bezzecchi, plus Ducati test rider Michele Pirro, also joined the RS-GP duo in lapping under the two-minute barrier.

Like Espargaro, Yamaha test rider Cal Crutchlow rode his first Sepang laps of the year on Wednesday, sharing the Yamaha test bikes also used by Koha Nozane and Katsuyuki Nakasuga.

Fabio di Giannantonio, forced to skip day two due to a stomach illness, was also absent on day three.

Both Dani Pedrosa and Mika Kallio are testing for KTM, but only Kallio's bikes have timing transponders.

There will now be a two-day break, during which Monster Yamaha and Suzuki will hold their official team launches, before the Official test - for all competitors - is held on February 5-6.

Testing at Sepang takes place from 10am to 6pm, followed by practice starts…

2022 Sepang MotoGP Shakedown Test - Wedneday (FINAL)
1Maverick VinalesSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)1m 58.942s
2Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+0.144s
3Raul FernandezSPAKTM Tech3 (RC16)*+0.526s
4Marco BezzecchiITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP)*+0.769s
5Michele PirroITADucati Test Rider (GP)+0.863s
6Remy GardnerAUSKTM Tech3 (RC16)*+1.104s
7Stefan BradlGERHonda Test Rider (RC213V)+1.507s
8Sylvain GuintoliFRASuzuki Test Rider (GSX-RR)+1.549s
9Darryn BinderRSAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)*+1.986s
10Mika KallioFINKTM Test Rider (RC16)+2.132s
11Yamaha Test1N/AYamaha Test Rider (YZR-M1)+2.877s
12Yamaha Test2N/AYamaha Test Rider (YZR-M1)+3.315s
13Takuya TsudaJPNSuzuki Test Rider (GSX-RR)+3.719s


Fastest Day 2 Time:
Maverick Vinales SPA Aprilia 1m 59.833s

Fastest Day 1 Time:
Raul Fernandez SPA KTM 2m 0.898s

Official Sepang MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Fabio Quartararo FRA Yamaha 1m 58.576s (2019)
Fastest race lap:
Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha 1m 59.661s (2019)

Unofficial Sepang MotoGP record:
Danilo Petrucci ITA Ducati 1m 58.239s (2019 testing)

By Peter McLaren