Takumi Takahashi will link up with the Honda Mie Racing Team for the 2020 World Superbike championship.

Following the launch of the new Honda CBR1000RR-R SP alongside the refreshed factory Honda World Superbike squad, with Alvaro Bautista and Leon Haslam forming its rider line-up for 2020, Takahashi is set to make the full-time move to WorldSBK with the Honda Mie Racing squad.

After a number of intermittent outings for Honda in WorldSBK, the 2017 All-Japan Road Racing Superbike champion bags his debut full-time campaign at international level. Earlier this season Takahashi filled in for the injured Leon Camier at Portimao and secured a points finish in 15th place for Moriwaki Althea Honda Team.

The Honda Mie Racing Team will run a two-rider squad in 2020 with its second rider set to be announced in the coming weeks. Ryuichi Kiyonari remains a front-runner for the spot having returned to full-time World Superbike action this year with the Moriwaki Althea Honda team.

The 2020 World Superbike championship begins at Phillip Island on February 28-1 March.

2020 World Superbike Championship grid so far:

Kawasaki Racing Team:

Jonathan Rea

Alex Lowes

Aruba.it Racing Ducati:

Chaz Davies

Scott Redding

Pata Yamaha:

Michael van der Mark

Toprak Razgatlioglu


Alvaro Bautista

Leon Haslam

BMW Motorrad:

Tom Sykes

Eugene Laverty

Pedercini Kawasaki:

Jordi Torres

Lorenzo Savadori

GRT Yamaha:

Federico Caricasulo

Garrett Gerloff

Ten Kate Yamaha:

Loris Baz

Barni Ducati:

Leon Camier

Orelac Kawasaki:


Team Go Eleven Ducati:

Michael Ruben Rinaldi

Puccetti Kawasaki:

Xavi Fores

Honda MIE Racing Team:

Takumi Takahashi