WorldSSP championship leader Dominique Aegerter finishes fastest on day-one in Assen. 

WorldSSP Assen, Netherlands - Free Practice Results (2)
1Dominique AegerterSWITen Kate Racing Yamaha1:37.274s
2Steven OdendaalSAEvan Bros Yamaha+0.041s
3Manuel GonzalezSPAYamaha Parkingo Racing+0.550s
4Philipp OettlGERKawasaki Puccetti Racing+0.812s
5Randy KrummenacherSWIEAB Racing Yamaha+0.883s
6Jules CluzelFRAGMT94 Yamaha+0.910s
7Can OncuTURKawasaki Puccetti Racing+0.991s
8Niki TuuliFINMV Agusta Corsa Clienti+1.067s
9Hannes SoomerESTKallio Racing Yamaha+1.105s
10Kevin ManfrediITAAltogo Yamaha Racing+1.255s
11Federico CaricasuloITAGMT94 Yamaha+1.293s
12Raffaele De RosaITAOrelac Racing Kawasaki+1.420s
13Mattia CasadeiITAVFT Racing+1.573s
14Michel FabrizioITAG.A.P Motozoo Puccetti Kawasaki Racing+1.693s
15Sheridan MoraisPORWojcik Racing Team+1.804s
16Peter SebestyenHUNEvan Bros Yamaha+1.861s
17Luca BernardiSMRCM Racing Yamaha+1.957s
18Daniel WebbGBRWRP Wepol Yamaha Racing+2.029s
19Vertti TakalaFINKallio Racing Yamaha+2.056s
20Leonardo TacciniITAOrelac Racing Kawasaki+2.155s
21Galang Hendra PratamaINDTen Kate Racing Yamaha+2.257s
22Marc AlcobaSPAYamaha MS Racing+2.291s
23Eemeli LahtiFINHRP Suzuki+2.506s
24Federico FuligniITAVFT Racing Yamaha+2.719s
25Pawel SzkopekPOLYamaha MS Racing+2.986s
26Stephane FrossardSWIJura Vitesse Moto Team Yamaha+3.307s
27Maria HerreraSPABiblion Yamaha Motoxracing+3.497s
28Shogo KawasakiJAPG.A.P Motozoo Puccetti Kawasaki Racing+3.862s
29Luigi MontellaITAChiodo Racing Yamaha+4.508s
30Eduardo Montero HuertaSPADK Motorsport Yamaha+4.938s

Aegerter showed impressive pace to lead most of the afternoon’ running ahead of title rival Steven Odendaal, however, the Evan Bros. Yamaha rider’s late time attack wasn’t quite enough to overhaul Aegerter as was the case in FP1.

With just under 15 minutes to go Aegerter set a 1:37.323s lap - over half a second clear of the South African - underlining his tag of favorite for this weekend.  

Odendaal did eventually reduce the gap to under a tenth of a second. What’s been evident so far in Assen is the clear advantage both Aegerter and Odendaal have on day-one over the remaining competitors. 

Shogo Kawasaki suffered a big crash with five minutes remaining at turn 15 (Ramshoek) which brought out a red flag. The session restarted after a ten minute delay but the top two remained unchanged.

Manuel Gonzalez and Philipp Oettl jumped up the order once the session restarted - this time Gonzalez getting the better of Oettl for third, while 2019 series winner Randy Krummenacher was fifth overall.  

Free Practice One

Steven Odendaal finished WorldSSP FP1 at Assen fastest from current championship leader Dominique Aegerter.

Aegerter, who is sporting a yellow retro livery for his Ten Kate Yamaha team’s home round, set a blistering pace from the outset that no other rider could seemingly challenge. 

That was until the very final lap of the session when Odendaal overhauled the Swiss rider who had gone even quicker on his final lap too. 

Philipp Oettl was third fastest in the end for Kawasaki Puccetti Racing after he and Manuel Gonzalez displaced Jules Cluzel who had spent most of FP1 third quickest. 

Niki Tuuli suffered a huge highside at turn two, but fortunately the Finn looked unhurt and was able to walk away on his own accord. Tuuli finished tenth overall.