WorldSSP Assen, Netherlands - Superpole Qualifying Results

Results from Superpole qualifying, round four of the 2021 World Supersport Championship at Assen.
Dominique Aegerter, Dutch WorldSSP, 23 July 2021
Dominique Aegerter, Dutch WorldSSP, 23 July 2021
© Gold and Goose

Dominique Aegerter’s stunning form around Assen continues as he takes pole position with a new lap record. 

WorldSSP Assen, Netherlands - Superpole Qualifying Results
1Dominique AegerterSWITen Kate Racing Yamaha1:37.222s
2Steven OdendaalSAEvan Bros Yamaha+0.305s
3Philipp OettlGERKawasaki Puccetti Racing+0.357s
4Hannes SoomerESTKallio Racing Yamaha+0.529s
5Manuel GonzalezSPAYamaha Parkingo Racing+0.794s
6Randy KrummenacherSWIEAB Racing Yamaha+0.895s
7Jules CluzelFRAGMT94 Yamaha+0.951s
8Raffaele De RosaITAOrelac Racing Kawasaki+1.055s
9Federico CaricasuloITAGMT94 Yamaha+1.222s
10Luca BernardiSMRCM Racing Yamaha+1.299s
11Niki TuuliFINMV Agusta Corsa Clienti+1.369s
12Can OncuTURKawasaki Puccetti Racing+1.383s
13Vertti TakalaFINKallio Racing Yamaha+1.734s
14Peter SebestyenHUNEvan Bros Yamaha+1.745s
15Marc AlcobaSPAYamaha MS Racing+1.839s
16Kevin ManfrediITAAltogo Yamaha Racing+1.902s
17Sheridan MoraisPORWojcik Racing Team+1.970s
18Mattia CasadeiITAVFT Racing+2.121s
19Michel FabrizioITAG.A.P Motozoo Puccetti Kawasaki Racing+2.125s
20Leonardo TacciniITAOrelac Racing Kawasaki+2.193s
21Eemeli LahtiFINHRP Suzuki+2.450s
22Daniel WebbGBRWRP Wepol Yamaha Racing+2.581s
23Federico FuligniITAVFT Racing Yamaha+2.700s
24Galang Hendra PratamaINDTen Kate Racing Yamaha+2.827s
25Maria HerreraSPABiblion Yamaha Motoxracing+2.989s
26Pawel SzkopekPOLYamaha MS Racing+3.680s
27Stephane FrossardSWIJura Vitesse Moto Team Yamaha+4.037s
28Eduardo Montero HuertaSPADK Motorsport Yamaha+4.050s
29Luigi MontellaITAChiodo Racing Yamaha+4.214s

Aegerter, who was fastest at the conclusion of day-one will lead a front row consisting of three former Moto2 riders, as Steven Odenddal and Philipp Oettl finished second and third respectively. 

There was a late fall for Hannes Soomer who looked in a lot of discomfort. The Estonian rider was second at the time of his crash - finished fourth in the end, while Niki Tuuli and Federico Caricasulo also suffered falls in the closing stages. 

Free Practice Two

WorldSSP championship leader Dominique Aegerter finishes fastest on day-one in Assen. 

Aegerter showed impressive pace to lead most of the afternoon’ running ahead of title rival Steven Odendaal, however, the Evan Bros. Yamaha rider’s late time attack wasn’t quite enough to overhaul Aegerter as was the case in FP1.

With just under 15 minutes to go, Aegerter set a 1:37.323s lap - over half a second clear of the South African - underlining his tag of favorite for this weekend.  

Odendaal did eventually reduce the gap to under a tenth of a second. What’s been evident so far in Assen is the clear advantage both Aegerter and Odendaal have on day-one over the remaining competitors. 

Shogo Kawasaki had a big crash with five minutes remaining at turn 15 (Ramshook) which brought out a red flag. After a ten minute delay, the session restarted to a pit lane full of riders. 

Manuel Gonzalez and Philipp Oettl jumped up the order once the session restarted - this time GOnzalez got the better of Oettl for third, while 2019 series winner Randy Krummenacher was fifth overall.  

Free Practice One

Steven Odendaal finished WorldSSP FP1 at Assen fastest from current championship leader Dominique Aegerter.

Aegerter, who is sporting a yellow retro livery for his Ten Kate Yamaha team’s home round, set a blistering pace from the outset that no other rider could seemingly challenge. 

That was until the very final lap of the session when Odendaal overhauled the Swiss rider who had gone even quicker on his final lap too. 

Philipp Oettl was third fastest in the end for Kawasaki Puccetti Racing after he and Manuel Gonzalez displaced Jules Cluzel who had spent most of FP1 third quickest. 

Niki Tuuli suffered a huge highside at turn two, but fortunately the Finn looked unhurt and was able to walk away on his own accord. Tuuli finished tenth overall.

Read More