Cal Crutchlow has won the Australian MotoGP at Phillip Island - his second victory of the season, but first in the dry - after holding off Valentino Rossi, who charged from 15th on the grid to second place.

Maverick Vinales claimed the final podium place, from 13th on grid, after winning a battle with Aleix Espargaro and Andrea Dovizioso. Espargaro fell in the closing stages.

Pole sitter and newly crowned world champion Marc Marquez has swiftly pulled a comfortable lead - only to lose the front and fall just before the midway stage.

That gave Crutchlow with a 1.9s lead over Rossi, which the Englishman would build to over five seconds.

Nicky Hayden was making his second MotoGP appearance of the season - this time returning to the Repsol Honda team with which he won the 2006 world championship, as a replacement for the injured Dani Pedrosa. Hayden fell after contact with Jack Miller late in the race.

Hector Barbera was riding for the factory Ducati team in place of the injured Andrea Iannone for the second week in succession, with 2015 Australian SBK champion Mike Jones in-turn keeping the Avintia seat for his home race...

1.Cal CrutchlowGBR LCR Honda (RC213V)40m 48.543s2.Valentino RossiITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)40m 52.761s3.Maverick Vi?alesESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)40m 53.852s4.Andrea DoviziosoITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP)40m 57.700s5.Pol EspargaroESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)41m 2.842s6.Jorge LorenzoESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)41m 8.668s7.Scott ReddingGBR Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15)41m 16.912s8.Bradley SmithGBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)41m 17.324s9.Danilo PetrucciITA Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15)41m 17.335s10.Jack MillerAUS Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)41m 17.358s11.Stefan BradlGER Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)41m 20.352s12.Alvaro BautistaESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)41m 36.277s13.Yonny HernandezCOL Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2)41m 36.292s14.Eugene LavertyIRL Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2)41m 42.854s15.Mike JonesAUS Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2)41m 44.418s16.Tito RabatESP Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)*41m 54.938s17.Nicky HaydenUSA Repsol Honda Team (RC213V)42m 11.147s
Hector BarberaESP Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP)DNF
Aleix EspargaroESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)DNF
Marc MarquezESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V)DNF
Loris BazFRA Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2)DNF

Blue Name = No Concessions.
7 engine changes for the season. Engines must be identical throughout season within same team (development freeze). 5 days of private testing.Black Name = Concessions.
9 engine changes. No engine development freeze. Unlimited private testing.* Rookie

Live Updates: Follow @Crash_MotoGP

By Peter McLaren