Suzuki rookie Mir causes a surprise by being quickest during morning warm-up for the Malaysian MotoGP at Sepang.

Pole starter Quartararo and the Ducatis of Dovizioso, Petrucci and Miller put in long runs on the soft rear tyre, while the other frontrunners went for the medium rear.

Marquez, who will start just 11th after a highside behind Quartararo in qualifying, was fourth.

Tito Rabat is absent due to his hand injury from Motegi. Oliveira tried to return after wrist injuries at Phillip Island, but stopped after just four laps in FP1 and will miss the rest of the weekend. Zarco is making the second of his three appearances for LCR Honda.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

Malaysian MotoGP - Warm-up Results
PosRiderNatTeamTime/DiffLapMax (km/h)
1Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)*1'59.516s9/9326k
2Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.268s9/9323k
3Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.316s4/10320k
4Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.341s9/10327k
5Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (GP19)+0.397s6/10332k
6Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)*+0.400s4/10322k
7Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.497s4/10322k
8Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP19)+0.507s5/10331k
9Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+0.656s4/10320k
10Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)+0.658s8/9325k
11Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.733s4/10324k
12Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP18)*+0.823s9/9327k
13Aleix EspargaroSPAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+0.843s4/10324k
14Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (GP19)+0.944s4/10326k
15Andrea IannoneITAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+1.009s10/10323k
16Johann ZarcoFRALCR Honda (RC213V)+1.151s6/10323k
17Karel AbrahamCZEReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)+1.608s9/10326k
18Mika KallioFINRed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+1.722s8/10320k
19Jorge LorenzoSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+1.988s7/10324k
20Hafizh SyahrinMALRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)+2.708s6/10320k

* Rookie.

Pole position Time:
Fabio Quartararo FRA Yamaha 1m 58.303s

Official Sepang MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Fabio Quartararo FRA Yamaha 1m 58.303s (2019)
Fastest race lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 2m 0.606s (2015)

Unofficial Sepang MotoGP record:
Danilo Petrucci ITA Ducati 1m 58.239s (2019 testing)


By Peter McLaren