The second and final day of the opening 2021 Qatar MotoGP test is underway at Losail.

Aleix Espargaro and Aprilia were the surprise leaders on day one, but can they hold their advantage?

With the Sepang test cancelled, Qatar is the first time most riders have been on a MotoGP bike since the chequered flag waved at Portimao last November.

The MotoGP regulars are joined by Factory test riders, including Shakedown pace setter Stefan Bradl (Honda) - also substituting for the injured Marc Marquez - new Yamaha signing Cal Crutchlow, 31-time MotoGP race winner Dani Pedrosa (KTM) and former World Superbike champion Sylvain Guintoli (Suzuki).

Crutchlow will be sharing M1s with Yamaha's Japanese test riders Katsuyuki Nakasuga and Kohta Nozane. The three bikes, which appear to include both the 2019 (A-Spec) and 2020 (Factory-Spec) models, are labelled '#T1', '#T2' and '#T3'. Official timing only lists the bike, not the rider.

Testing takes place from 2pm to 9pm each day, followed by ten minutes reserved for practice starts.

The second and final pre-season test will then be held at the same circuit on March 10-12, venue for the season-opening race on March 28, then round two on April 4.

CLICK HERE for live updates during the 2021 Qatar MotoGP Tests...

2021 Qatar MotoGP test times - Sunday (7pm)
1^12Jack MillerAUSDucati Team (GP21)1m 54.367s33/35
2^1Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+0.058s41/41
3^4Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.218s28/37
4^7Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.291s25/27
5˅4Stefan BradlGERRepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.291s10/32
6˅4Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.306s25/40
7˅1Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.321s35/42
8˅4Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.407s34/48
9˅4Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Team (GP21)+0.490s25/31
10=Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.503s26/34
11^3Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)+0.585s32/34
12˅3Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.807s24/29
13^5Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+0.813s28/38
14˅6Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP21)+0.820s30/35
15˅3Enea BastianiniITAAvintia Esponsorama (GP19)*+1.145s26/26
16^4Danilo PetrucciITAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+1.428s39/40
17˅2Yamaha Test2N/AYamaha Test Rider (YZR-M1)+61.500s20/20
18^4Iker LecuonaSPAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+1.506s22/22
19^4Luca MariniITASky VR46 Avintia (GP19)*+1.558s23/26
20˅4Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+1.577s23/33
21˅4Valentino RossiITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.624s14/25
22˅3Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP21)*+1.871s11/24
23˅2Dani PedrosaSPAKTM Test Rider (RC16)+2.085s32/42
24^1Sylvain GuintoliFRASuzuki Test Rider (GSX-RR)+2.395s26/31
25˅1Lorenzo SavadoriITAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)*+2.758s9/22
26=Michele PirroITADucati Test Rider (GP21)+3.528s19/20
27=Yamaha Test1N/AYamaha Test Rider (YZR-M1)+4.115s12/12
28=Takuya TsudaJPNSuzuki Test Rider (GSX-RR)+4.543s16/25

* Rookie

^X Rider is X positions higher than previous hour.
= Rider is same position as previous hour.
˅X Rider is X positions lower than previous hour.

Fastest Day 1 Time:
Aleix Espargaro SPA Aprilia 1m 54.687s

Official Qatar MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 53.380s (2019)
Fastest race lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 54.927s (2016)

By Peter McLaren


Loading Comments...