Suzuki's Alex Rins splits world championship leaders Fabio Quartararo and Francesco Bagnaia in Free Practice 4 for the 2021 San Marino MotoGP at Misano.

Qualifying 1, for those outside the top ten after third free practice, including Marc Marquez and Valentino Rossi, will now get underway.

Franco Morbidelli is making a return from knee surgery for his debut at Monster Yamaha, as Vinales' full-time replacement alongside Fabio Quartararo.

Taking over Morbidelli's ex-Petronas Yamaha A-spec bike is triple MotoGP title runner-up Andrea Dovizioso, the former Ducati star also remaining at what will be a renamed RNF Racing team for 2022.

Test riders Stefan Bradl (Honda) and Michele Pirro (Ducati) are making wild-card appearances.

A two-day official test will be held next week while the second Misano round, also the final home MotoGP appearance for local legend Rossi, will take place on October 22-24…

San Marino MotoGP, Misano - Free Practice (4) Results
1Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)1'32.197s16/16290k
2Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.090s16/16294k
3Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Team (GP21)+0.136s9/14296k
4Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP21)+0.308s13/16298k
5Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.381s9/13289k
6Enea BastianiniITAAvintia Ducati (GP19)*+0.438s13/13296k
7Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+0.484s12/16293k
8Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.500s8/13296k
9Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+0.527s15/16296k
10Jack MillerAUSDucati Team (GP21)+0.571s11/16294k
11Michele PirroITADucati Team (GP21)+0.575s5/10293k
12Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+0.729s15/18295k
13Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP21)*+0.757s7/14293k
14Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.761s16/17294k
15Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)+0.831s16/16296k
16Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.847s11/13293k
17Valentino RossiITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.889s14/16290k
18Iker LecuonaSPAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+1.031s7/13291k
19Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)+1.063s10/16295k
20Luca MariniITASky VR46 Avintia Ducati (GP19)*+1.069s10/13295k
21Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.083s12/12290k
22Stefan BradlGERHRC (RC213V)+1.108s5/15296k
23Danilo PetrucciITAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+1.354s4/14291k
24Andrea DoviziosoITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.408s16/16286k

* Rookie
Fastest Practice time:
Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati 1m 31.936s (FP3)
Official Misano MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Maverick Vinales SPA Yamaha 1m 31.007s (2020)
Fastest race lap:
Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati 1m 32.319s(2020)

By Peter McLaren