Tarran Mackenzie extends his British Superbike title lead with a tense victory over Tommy Bridewell in the opening race at the 2021 Brands Hatch season finale.

Mackenzie began the day with a 10-point advantage over McAMS Yamaha team-mate Jason O'Halloran, with Christian Iddon 15-points from the top and Bridewell 21-points adrift.

Having made the most of damp qualifying conditons to take a shock pole position on his TAG Racing Honda debut, Luke Mossey was soon passed by fellow front-row starters Iddon and Mackenzie. Bridewell slotted into an early fourth behind Andrew Irwin while O'Halloran made gains from eleventh on the grid.

Bridewell overtook Irwin soon after to make it three title fighters in the top four (with O'Halloran still in seventh) before the Safety Car briefly appeared due to a fall for Josh Owens.

When the action resumed, Bridewell tagged the back of Iddon as the PBM rider cut back to the racing line after a failed pass on Mackenzie at Druids, but soon recovered from to re-catch and pass his fellow Ducati rider for second.

Bridewell then piled the pressure on race leader Mackenzie in the closing laps but was left just 0.160s short at the chequered flag. Iddon completed the podium while O'Halloran climbed up the order for best of the rest in fourth.

All of which means Mackenzie will take a 22-point lead over O'Halloran into the first of Sunday's races, with Iddon now 24 points behind and Bridewell -26.

British Superbike, Brands Hatch - Race Results (1)
1Tarran MackenzieGBR McAMS Yamaha16 laps
2Tommy BridewellGBR Oxford Products Racing Ducati+0.160s
3Christian IddonGBR VisionTrack Ducati+2.636s
4Jason O'HalloranAUS McAMS Yamaha+6.675s
5Peter HickmanGBR FHO Racing BMW+6.965s
6Andrew IrwinGBR SYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+8.976s
7Josh BrookesAUS VisionTrack Ducati+8.994s
8Lee JacksonGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+9.084s
9Glenn IrwinGBR Honda Racing+9.382s
10Bradley RayGBR RICH Energy OMG Racing BMW+12.446s
11Danny BuchanGBR SYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+13.349s
12Gino ReaGBR Buildbase Suzuki+13.404s
13Kyle RydeGBR RICH Energy OMG Racing BMW+13.648s
14Joe FrancisGBR FHO Racing BMW+15.589s
15Luke MosseyGBR TAG Racing Honda+20.276s
16Storm StaceyGBR Team LKQ Euro Car Parts Kawasaki+20.363s
17Takumi TakahashiJPN Honda Racing+26.703s
18Ryan VickersGBR RAF Regular & Reserve Kawasaki+28.853s
19Joe Sheldon-ShawGBR iForce Lloyd & Jones BMW+29.348s
20Leon JeacockGBR Buildbase Suzuki+30.359s
21Luke HopkinsGBR Black Onyx Security Honda+43.463s
22Brian MccormackIRL Roadhouse Macau By FHO Racing BMW+43.715s
23Jesse TraylerGBR NP Motorcycles BMW+1m 33.226s
 Bjorn EstmentRSA Powerslide / Catfoss Racing SuzukiDNF
 Rory SkinnerGBRFS-3 Racing KawasakiDNF
 Dean HarrisonGBR Silicone Engineering Racing KawasakiDNF
 Ryo MizunoJPN Honda RacingDNF
 Josh OwensGBR Rapid CDH Racing KawasakiDNF