In total, the 2008 MotoGP grid contains 24 world titles - led by Valentino Rossi's seven world championships - with even the four class rookies holding five world championships between them, thanks to Jorge Lorenzo (double 250cc world champion), Andrea Dovizioso (125cc world champion) and James Toseland (double World Superbike champion). Alex de Angelis is the only rookie without a world title.

Of the 18 full times riders, 16 have won races at world championship level in Grand Prix, World Superbike or World Supersport. Between them, these 16 riders have already scored an amazing 303 race victories at world championship level.

The only MotoGP riders yet to taste victory in a world championship race are John Hopkins and Sylvain Guintoli.

The following is a list of the world championship titles held by each rider on the 2008 MotoGP grid.

1.Valentino Rossi seven world titles (5 x MotoGP, 1 x 250, 1 x 125)
2.Dani Pedrosa three world titles (2 x 250, 1 x 125)
3.Loris Capirossi three world titles (1 x 250, 2 x 125)
4.Colin Edwards two world titles (2 x WSBK)
5.James Toseland two world titles (2 x WSBK) *
6.Jorge Lorenzo two world titles (2 x 250) *
7.Casey Stoner one world title (MotoGP)
8.Nicky Hayden one world title (MotoGP)
9.Marco Melandri one world title (250)
10.Chris Vermeulen one world title (WSS)
11.Andrea Dovizioso one world title (125) *

* rookie