Italian MotoGP, Mugello - Free Practice (1) Results
1Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)1'46.662s18/19347k
2Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+0.408s12/18353k
3Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo (GP22)+0.408s8/16350k
4Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.409s10/20352k
5Enea BastianiniITAGresini Ducati (GP21)+0.524s13/17355k
6Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+0.529s15/18352k
7Jack MillerAUSDucati Lenovo (GP22)+0.653s18/20351k
8Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.705s17/19350k
9Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP22)+0.705s15/21354k
10Luca MariniITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)+0.721s16/19350k
11Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.731s9/21348k
12Michele PirroITADucati Test Rider (GP22)+0.770s4/16348k
13Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)+0.900s17/20356k
14Marco BezzecchiITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP21)*+0.922s9/19351k
15Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.996s10/20348k
16Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.065s5/20345k
17Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+1.084s20/20352k
18Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)+1.158s6/20350k
19Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+1.213s5/17345k
20Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP22)+1.241s16/17352k
21Andrea DoviziosoITAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)+1.416s10/18348k
22Lorenzo SavadoriITAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+1.591s5/18352k
23Fabio Di GiannantonioITAGresini Ducati (GP21)*+1.673s7/17348k
24Darryn BinderRSAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)*+2.248s18/18354k
25Raul FernandezSPAKTM Tech3 (RC16)*+2.249s12/18346k
26Remy GardnerAUSKTM Tech3 (RC16)*+2.298s7/16345k

* Rookie

Official Mugello MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Fabio Quartararo FRA Yamaha 1m 45.187s (2021)
Fastest race lap:
Johann Zarco FRA Ducati 1m 46.810s (2021)

Takaaki Nakagami leads opening practice for the Italian MotoGP at Mugello.

With wet weather a threat throughout the weekend, Nakagami was among the riders to fit new tyres for a late time attack, finishing a substantial 0.408s clear of Aleix Espargaro, whose Aprilia factory announced a new deal with RNF for the 2023 season this morning.

Marc Marquez, who said yesterday he would know 'straight away from FP1' how his weekend would go, was only 19th.

The fastest straight of the season saw plenty of revised aero parts for the likes of Yamaha, KTM, Honda and Aprilia, the back of Lorenzo Savadori's RS-GP sporting a small rear wing.

Fabio Quartararo leads the MotoGP standings by just four points from Enea Bastianini after the Gresini Ducati rider’s third victory of the season at Le Mans, with Aprilia’s Aleix Espargaro just eight points from the top.

Quartararo won last year’s Mugello race after Francesco Bagnaia crashed from the lead on lap 2, but can the Frenchman again compensate for his M1’s lack of speed along the fastest straight on the MotoGP calendar?

Local legend Valentino Rossi will have his #46 officially retired from MotoGP on Saturday.

The official MotoGP top speed record of 362.4km/h (225.2mph), first set by Johann Zarco at Qatar 2021, was equalled by Brad Binder at Mugello last season.

Test riders Michele Pirro (Ducati) and Lorenzo Savadori (Aprilia) are making their latest wild-card appearances this weekend.

2022 Italian Grand Prix – MotoGP schedule (UK Time):

Friday May 27

8.55am-9.40am - Free Practice 1

1.10pm-1.55pm - Free Practice 2

Saturday May 28

8.55am-9.40am - Free Practice 3

12.30pm-1pm - Free Practice 4

1.10pm-1.25pm - Qualifying 1

1.35pm-1.50pm - Qualifying 2

Sunday May 29

8.40am-9am - Warm-up

1pm - Race



Le Mans: MotoGP World Championship standings
1Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)102 
2Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)98(-4)
3Enea BastianiniITAGresini Ducati (GP21)94(-8)
4Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)69(-33)
5Jack MillerAUSDucati Lenovo (GP22)62(-40)
6Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP22)62(-40)
7Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo (GP22)56(-46)
8Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)56(-46)
9Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)56(-46)
10Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)54(-48)
11Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)43(-59)
12Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)40(-62)
13Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)33(-69)
14Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)30(-72)
15Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP22)28(-74)
16Luca MariniITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)21(-81)
17Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)19(-83)
18Marco BezzecchiITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP21)*19(-83)
19Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)18(-84)
20Andrea DoviziosoITAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)8(-94)
21Darryn BinderRSAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)*6(-96)
22Fabio di GiannantonioITAGresini Ducati (GP21)*3(-99)
23Remy GardnerAUSKTM Tech3 (RC16)*3(-99)