Lorenzo takes pole position at the San Marino Grand Prix, with a new Misano lap record. Miller claims second on the grid for his best MotoGP qualifying, with Vinales completing the front row.

Marquez had a fast accident in the closing stages, then rushed back to the pits and jumped straight on his spare bike. However he was unable to improve and dropped to fifth, behind Dovizioso.

Crutchlow, another faller, will start from sixth place, with home star Rossi in seventh.

Tito Rabat is absent due to leg injuries at Silverstone and has been replaced by Christophe Ponsson. Ponsson is using the GP16 machines of Simeon, who has been handed Rabat's GP17s.

KTM's Espargaro is returning from back and shoulder injuries at Brno. Stefan Bradl and Michele Pirro are competing as a wild-cards.

CLICK HERE for live updates...

Qualifying 2:

  1. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (GP18) 1m 31.629s [Lap 7/7] 292km/h (Top Speed)
  2. Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (GP17) 1m 31.916s +0.287s [Lap 5/9] 289k
  3. Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 31.950s +0.321s [Lap 8/8] 292k
  4. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP18) 1m 32.003s +0.374s [Lap 7/8] 293k
  5. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 32.016s +0.387s [Lap 2/8] 290k
  6. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 32.025s +0.396s [Lap 6/7] 293k
  7. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 32.028s +0.399s [Lap 6/8] 290k
  8. Danilo Petrucci ITA Pramac Ducati (GP18) 1m 32.136s +0.507s [Lap 7/8] 293k
  9. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 1m 32.250s +0.621s [Lap 7/8] 289k
  10. Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 32.338s +0.709s [Lap 8/8] 289k
  11. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 32.369s +0.740s [Lap 8/9] 293k
  12. Franco Morbidelli ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* No Time [Lap 0/0]

Qualifying 1:

  1. Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 32.566s 288k
  2. Michele Pirro ITA Ducati Team (GP18) 1m 32.624s 292k
  3. Alvaro Bautista ESP Angel Nieto Team (GP17) 1m 32.792s 290k
  4. Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 33.084s 289k
  5. Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 33.085s 286k
  6. Stefan Bradl GER HRC Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 33.361s 291k
  7. Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V)* 1m 33.437s 284k
  8. Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 33.502s 291k
  9. Scott Redding GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 33.572s 285k
  10. Xavier Simeon ESP Reale Avintia (GP17)* 1m 33.705s 286k
  11. Thomas Luthi SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 1m 33.755s 285k
  12. Karel Abraham CZE Angel Nieto Team (GP16) 1m 33.812s 290k
  13. Hafizh Syahrin MAL Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 34.080s 288k
  14. Christophe Ponsson FRA Reale Avintia (GP16)* 1m 37.180s 284k


Fastest practice time:
Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati 1m 32.198s (FP2)

Official Misano MotoGP records:
Pole Position:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 31.868 (2016)
Fastest race lap:
Dani Pedrosa SPA Honda 1m 32.979s (2016)

By Peter McLaren