We ended 2013 by revealing that Kimi Raikkonen, despite contesting just 17 of the year's 19 F1 races, was your choice as Driver of the Year.

The Finn, who slipped to fifth in the world championship standings as a result of the back injury that flared up late in the day, swapped places with Fernando Alonso at the top of the poll rankings, having been second to the Spaniard in 2012. In neither case did the #1 earn his position because of a championship title but, for some reason, you appear reluctant to reward Sebastian Vettel with the Crash.net accolade...

With the German placing third overall this time, up one from fourth last year, perhaps all it will take is another couple of crowns to regain that elusive top spot in a vote that annually produces more than the odd surprise. Vettel came out as your number one in the first two years that Crash.net held its poll, but saw Red Bull team-mate Mark Webber and McLaren's Jenson Button claim the crown in the years before Alonso and Raikkonen.

Now, its time to reveal exactly how the votes panned out for 23 drivers that took at least one grand prix start in 2013.

We asked you, the Crash.net readers, to give each driver a mark out of ten for their performances during the 2013 season, with the average scores then being used to decide the Driver of the Year. The top ten positions were revealed over the festive break, culminating in Raikkonen's coronation on New Year's Eve, but who missed out on the coveted spots and by how much...?

Perhaps surprisingly, given his performances in a woeful McLaren, former winner Jenson Button wasn't amongst the top ten, and neither was Felipe Massa in his final season with Ferrari. One of the year's rookies, running with a comparative minnow, takes 13th overall, as Jules Bianchi is rewarded for his efforts with Marussia, while the final spot amongst the 23 is taken by a former race winner.... but who is it?

The full results, and the average score out of ten awarded by Crash.net readers, can be seen below, with last year's poll position also shown for comparison of the risers and fallers....
Crash.net's 2013 F1 Drivers of the Year - full result:

1.Kimi RaikkonenLotus F1 7.922nd
2.Fernando AlonsoFerrari 7.571st
3.Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing 7.364th
4.Nico HulkenbergSauber F1 7.346th
5. Romain GrosjeanLotus F1 7.1418th
6. Nico RosbergMercedes AMG Petronas 6.8311th
7. Mark WebberRed Bull Racing 6.317th
8. Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG Petronas 6.303rd
9. Valtteri BottasWilliams F1 5.49New entry
10. Daniel RicciardoScuderia Toro Rosso 5.3716th

11. Jenson ButtonVodafone McLaren5.23 5th12. Felipe MassaFerrari5.14 9th13. Jules BianchiMarussia F14.85 New entry14. Sergio PerezVodafone McLaren4.68 8th15. Paul di RestaSahara Force India 4.64 12th16. Jean-Eric VergneScuderia Toro Rosso4.41 19th17. Adrian SutilSahara Force India4.30 Re-entry18. Esteban GutierrezSauber F14.09 New entry19. Heikki KovalainenLotus F14.09 15th20. Giedo van der GardeCaterham F1 3.81 New entry21. Charles PicCaterham F13.44 22nd22. Max ChiltonMarussia F13.29 New entry23. Pastor MaldonadoWilliams F12.76 13th

Crash.net F1 Driver of the Year - previous winners:

2012 Fernando Alonso
2011 Jenson Button
2010 Mark Webber
2009 Sebastian Vettel
2008 Sebastian Vettel

We'd like to thank you for taking the time to vote in our 2013 F1 Driver of the Year vote, as well as in the other end of season votes on Crash.net.

Do you agree with the poll results? If not, why not? Leave your comments below...



Loading Comments...