1st - Marc MarquezAverage score out of ten: 9.19Team: Repsol Honda TeamBike: RC213V (Factory)Wins: 6Podiums: 16Poles: 9Fastest Laps: 11Championship points: 334 (18.6 points per start average, counting DSQ)Championship position: 1st of 27

The 2013 MotoGP title battle between Marc Marquez and Jorge Lorenzo was decided by just four points and the Crash.net Star of the Year vote also went down to the wire - with Marquez once again victorious.

You awarded the Repsol Honda rider with an average score of 9.19 out of 10 for his record-breaking rookie season, beating the 9.02 average for defending champion Lorenzo.

But both riders were clearly a cut above the rest in your eyes, with third best Dani Pedrosa receiving 7.62 out of 10.

In a season that saw the history books re-written, Marquez literally came, saw and conquered at his first attempt.

While few doubted that Marquez was always destined to be a potential champion at MotoGP level, few expected him to have flattened the learning curve so comprehensively.

The 20-year-old came out with all guns blazing - a podium on his Qatar debut followed by victory from pole in only his second race. Rather than the predicted rookie errors, Marquez continued to rack up podium-after-podium, with the exception of a late slip at Mugello.

When chief championship rivals Lorenzo and Pedrosa suffered mid-season shoulder injuries, Marquez inflicted the maximum title damage with four successive wins. By the time Lorenzo and Pedrosa were back to full strength, the hard-riding Marquez had already matured into a rounded title challenger.

While Lorenzo threw everything at Marquez on and off track during the final events, not even disqualification in Australia - or the earlier controversy caused by the Aragon incident with team-mate Pedrosa - could stop Marquez becoming MotoGP's youngest champion and the first rookie winner since 1978.

2013 MotoGP Rider of the Year: Top 101st Marc Marquez SPA Repsol Honda Team 9.19 out of 102nd Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha Factory Racing 9.023rd Dani Pedrosa SPA Repsol Honda Team 7.62 4th Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 7.205th Aleix Espargaro SPA Power Electronics Aspar 6.97 6th Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha Factory Racing 6.917th Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP 6.298th Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 6.179th Alvaro Bautista SPA Go&Fun Honda Gresini 5.9010th Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team 5.48

The complete Crash.net Star of the Year ranking, featuring the average score for all 22 riders listed, will be revealed tomorrow (Monday).

Crash.net's MotoGP Star of the Year winners:2013: Marc Marquez2012: Dani Pedrosa2011: Casey Stoner2010: Jorge Lorenzo2009: Valentino Rossi2008: Valentino Rossi

About the vote:
Over 30,000 votes were cast for the 2013 Crash.net MotoGP Star of the Year poll, where viewers were asked to award each of this year's full-time participants - only Ben Spies and Karel Abraham, injured for large parts of the season, were not included - with a mark out of ten.

The average score for each rider was then used to determine the final ranking.

Voting instructions were as follows: "It's your vote, which means the criterion is entirely up to you. If you feel results are all that matter in racing, vote according to the championship standings or race wins. However most will feel factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, riding style, experience, injuries, progress and personality should also be taken into account."

Like MotoGP? 'Like' the Crash.net Facebook page to receive news directly to your timeline...