Spanish MotoGP, Jerez - Free Practice (2) Results
Pos RiderNatTeamTime/DiffLapMax
1^4Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)1'37.071s18/19290k
2^10Enea BastianiniITAGresini Ducati (GP21)+0.201s19/20297k
3^10Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo (GP22)+0.212s16/18293k
4^10Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP22)+0.297s17/19295k
5^1Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+0.510s18/21292k
6^1Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.514s18/19293k
7^1Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.519s20/21294k
8˅6Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.655s20/22293k
9=Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+0.688s18/19294k
10=Jack MillerAUSDucati Lenovo (GP22)+0.691s17/18293k
11^6Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP22)+0.759s17/18296k
12˅11Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.771s19/20291k
13˅9Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+0.777s15/16293k
14^1Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.881s17/18289k
15^1Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.941s17/19293k
16˅13Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)+0.956s19/21293k
17^5Luca MariniITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)+1.031s14/16290k
18=Marco BezzecchiITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP21)*+1.125s18/20296k
19˅8Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+1.129s14/15293k
20˅1Andrea DoviziosoITAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)+1.214s20/21290k
21^3Fabio Di GiannantonioITAGresini Ducati (GP21)*+1.242s15/17291k
22˅2Stefan BradlGERTeam HRC (RC213V)+1.251s17/18293k
23˅2Remy GardnerAUSKTM Tech3 (RC16)*+1.282s18/19290k
24^1Darryn BinderRSAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)*+1.817s18/19290k
25˅2Lorenzo SavadoriITAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+1.889s17/18292k

^X Rider is X positions higher than FP1.
= Rider is same position as FP1.
˅X Rider is X positions lower than FP1.

* Rookie

Official Jerez MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Maverick Vinales SPA Yamaha 1m 36.584s (2020)
Fastest race lap:
Fabio Quartararo FRA Yamaha 1m 37.770s (2021)

Fabio Quartararo continues the momentum from his Portimao victory by leading Free Practice 2 for the Spanish MotoGP at Jerez, a session that Marc Marquez fall twice in quick succession on his way to 19th.

Suzuki team-mates Joan Mir and Alex Rins had been first and second in FP1, but their best morning laps were beaten by Francesco Bagnaia within the opening minutes of the afternoon.

After a painful final turn spill on his way to fourth this morning, Portimao winner and new joint title leader (with Rins) Quartararo then put his Yamaha at the head of the field soon after.

Mir and Aleix Espargaro were next to feature in P1, just before the halfway stage, the Aprilia rider reigning until Takaaki Nakagami stuck a new soft rear in his LCR Honda to edge 0.1s clear with 7mins to go.

Others followed suit with new soft rubber, resulting in Bagnaia, Jorge Martin, Quartararo and Enea Bastianini all vaulting ahead of Nakagami.

Quartararo's continued his charge to set a 1m 37.071s on his penultimate lap, with Gresini Ducati's former title leader Bastianini best of the rest (+0.2s), just ahead of Bagnaia.

An early mix-up between a slow-moving Marc Marquez, team-mate Pol Espargaro and rookie Remy Gardner left Espargaro and then Gardner gesturing at the #93 in frustration into the final corner.

Marquez's afternoon got a lot worse when he lost the front of his Honda at the slow Turn 6 hairpin, now named after former team-mate Dani Pedrosa.

The #93 then rejoined and was riding slowly back to the pits when he fell again, just a few corners later, when he ran over a damp patch while leaving space on the inside for Miguel Oliveira at Turn 9! 

Marquez was given a lift back to the pits on a scooter ridden by none other than Pedrosa, watching trackside as part of his role as KTM test rider.

Today's accidents were Marquez's second and third since returning from diplopia in COTA. The Repsol Honda star later received another visual 'hurry up' from Pol's older brother Aleix on his way to a lowly 19th (+1.1s) on soft rubber.

Tech3 KTM's Raul Fernandez, ruled out of last Sunday's Portimao round due to a right-hand injury in qualifying, has also been declared unfit for Jerez.

Factory test riders Stefan Bradl (Honda) and Lorenzo Savadori (Aprilia) are making wild-card card appearances this weekend, ahead of Monday's official test.

After third place for Aleix Espargaro in Portimao, one more podium finish for the RS-GP will mean Aprilia lose technical concessions.

Quartararo looked set for a comfortable victory at Jerez last season, only to fade from the lead with arm pump problems (for which he then underwent surgery) handing Ducati a one-two with Jack Miller and Francesco Bagnaia.

Franco Morbidelli completed the podium in third last year, taking what would be the final rostrum for Petronas Yamaha SRT.

Spanish MotoGP schedule – UK Time

Friday April 29

8.00-8.40am - Moto3 Free Practice 1

8.55-9.40am - MotoGP Free Practice 1

9.55-10.35am - Moto2 Free Practice 1

12.15-12.55pm - Moto3 Free Practice 2

1.10-1.55pm - MotoGP Free Practice 2

2.10pm-2.50pm - Moto2 Free Practice 2


Saturday April 30

8.00-8.40am - Moto3 Free Practice 3

8.55-9.40am - MotoGP Free Practice 3

9.55am-10.35am - Moto2 Free Practice 3

11.35am-11.50am - Moto3 Qualifying 1

12-12.15pm - Moto3 Qualifying 2

12.30-1pm - MotoGP Free Practice 4

1.10-1.25pm - MotoGP Qualifying 1

1.35-1.50pm - MotoGP Qualifying 2

2.10-2.25pm - Moto2 Qualifying 1

2.35pm-2.50pm - Moto2 Qualifying 2


Sunday May 1

8.00-8.10am - Moto3 warm-up

8.20-8.30am - Moto2 warm-up

8.40-9am - MotoGP warm-up

10am - Moto3 race

11.20am - Moto2 race

1pm - MotoGP race

Portugal: MotoGP World Championship standings
Pos RiderNatTeamPointsDiff.
1^4Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)69 
2=Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)69(0)
3=Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)66(-3)
4˅3Enea BastianiniITAGresini Ducati (GP21)61(-8)
5^3Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP22)51(-18)
6˅2Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)46(-23)
7˅1Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)42(-27)
8^1Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)39(-30)
9˅2Jack MillerAUSDucati Lenovo (GP22)31(-38)
10^2Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo (GP22)31(-38)
11^2Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)31(-38)
12=Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)30(-39)
13˅3Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP22)28(-41)
14=Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)25(-44)
15=Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)17(-52)
16^1Luca MariniITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)14(-55)
17^2Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)13(-56)
18˅2Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)12(-57)
19˅1Marco BezzecchiITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP21)*8(-61)
20^1Andrea DoviziosoITAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)8(-61)
21˅1Darryn BinderRSAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)*6(-63)
22=Remy GardnerAUSKTM Tech3 (RC16)*3(-66)