Updated after Stewards removed the earlier 1.5s post-race time penalty given to Cal Crutchlow for exceeding track limits. Data showed the Englishman did not gain an advantage and he thus keeps his eighth place.

Dani Pedrosa has won the San Marino MotoGP after charging forwards from eighth on the grid to become MotoGP's eighth different race winner in a row!

It is Pedrosa's first victory since Sepang 2015.

Local star Valentino Rossi and Yamaha team-mate Jorge Lorenzo completed the podium, with world championship leader Marc Marquez forced to settle for fourth.

Cal Crutchlow was given a post-race time penalty for exceeding track limits.

Andrea Iannone was ruled out of the remainder of the weekend due to a fracture of the T3 vertebra on Friday morning, with Jack Miller withdrawing on Sunday morning due to pain from an injured hand.

Alex Lowes was replacing the injured Bradley Smith for the second time, with Xavi Fores in place of Loris Baz at Avintia. Baz was injured in last weekend's British MotoGP.

Ducati test rider Michele Pirro had a wild-card entry, then took over Iannone's place at the factory team...

1.Dani PedrosaESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V)43m 43.524s2.Valentino RossiITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)43m 46.361s3.Jorge LorenzoESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)43m 47.883s4.Marc MarquezESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V)43m 53.093s5.Maverick Vi?alesESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)43m 58.991s6.Andrea DoviziosoITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP)44m 3.200s7.Michele PirroITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP)44m 6.460s8.Cal CrutchlowGBR LCR Honda (RC213V)44m 9.226s9.Pol EspargaroESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)44m 10.679s10.Alvaro BautistaESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)44m 17.492s11.Danilo PetrucciITA Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15)44m 22.730s12.Stefan BradlGER Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)44m 23.491s13.Hector BarberaESP Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2)44m 26.521s14.Eugene LavertyIRL Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2)44m 32.974s15.Scott ReddingGBR Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15)44m 38.403s16.Yonny HernandezCOL Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2)44m 48.596s17.Tito RabatESP Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)*5 laps
Aleix EspargaroESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)DNF
Javier ForesESP Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2)DNF
Alex LowesGBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)DNF

Blue Name = No Concessions.
7 engine changes for the season. Engines must be identical throughout season within same team (development freeze). 5 days of private testing.Black Name = Concessions.
9 engine changes. No engine development freeze. Unlimited private testing.* Rookie

Live Updates: Follow @Crash_MotoGP

By Peter McLaren


Loading Comments...