With preparations ramping up for the 2020 MotoGP world championship season, teams are beginning to confirm launch dates ahead of the start of pre-season testing and the opening round.

The 72nd world championship is bolstered to 20 rounds for 2020 with the long-awaited return of the Finnish Grand Prix after a 32-year absence. MotoGP will descend on the purpose-built KymiRing on the 10-12 July.

MotoGP also welcomes three rookies on to the grid this year with reigning Moto2 world champion Alex Marquez joining Repsol Honda, while KTM takes on two new faces with Brad Binder at the factory team and Iker Lecuona slotting in at Tech3.

The first official track action begins at Sepang with the three-day Shakedown Test on the 2-4 February.

This page will be regularly updated with each team’s launch date before the start of the 2020 MotoGP season.

2020 MotoGP team launch dates:

Ducati Team – 23 January, Bologna

Repsol Honda – 4 February, Jakarta

Suzuki – 6 February, Sepang

Monster Yamaha – 6 February, Sepang

Petronas Yamaha Sepang Team – 6 February, Sepang

Avintia Ducati - 14 February, Andorra

Red Bull KTM and Tech3 KTM - 18 February, online

LCR Honda – TBC

Pramac Ducati – TBC

Aprilia Gresini – TBC

Pre-season test dates:

Sepang Shakedown Test – 2-4 February

Sepang Test – 7-9 February

Qatar Test – 22-24 February

MotoGP race calendar:

Qatar Grand Prix – 8 March

Thailand Grand Prix – 22 March

Grand Prix of the Americas – 5 April

Argentina Grand Prix – 19 April

Spanish Grand Prix – 3 May

French Grand Prix – 17 May

Italian Grand Prix – 31 May

Catalan Grand Prix – 7 June

German Grand Prix – 21 June

Dutch TT – 28 June

Finnish Grand Prix – 12 July

Czech Republic Grand Prix – 9 August

Austrian Grand Prix – 16 August

British Grand Prix – 30 August

San Marino Grand Prix – 13 September

Aragon Grand Prix – 4 October

Japanese Grand Prix – 18 October

Australian Grand Prix – 25 October

Malaysian Grand Prix – 1 November

Valencian Grand Prix – 15 November

MotoGP rider line-up (contract length):

Repsol Honda:
Marc Marquez (End of 2020)
Alex Marquez (End of 2020)*

Monster Yamaha:
Maverick Vinales (End of 2020)
Valentino Rossi (End of 2020)

Ducati Team:
Andrea Dovizioso (End of 2020)
Danilo Petrucci (End of 2020)

Petronas Yamaha Sepang Team:
Franco Morbidelli (End of 2020)
Fabio Quartararo (End of 2020)

Alex Rins (End of 2020)
Joan Mir (End of 2020)

Pramac Ducati:
Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati contract, end of 2020)
Jack Miller (Ducati contract, end of 2020)

LCR Honda:
Cal Crutchlow (HRC contract, end of 2020)
Takaaki Nakagami (HRC contract, end of 2020)

Red Bull KTM:
Pol Espargaro (End of 2020)
Brad Binder (End of 2020)*

Tech3 KTM:
Miguel Oliveira (KTM contract, end of 2020)
Iker Lecuona (KTM contract, End of 2020)*

Aprilia Gresini:
Aleix Espargaro (End of 2020)
Andrea Iannone (End of 2020)**

Avintia Racing
Johann Zarco (Ducati contract, end of 2020)
Tito Rabat (End of 2021)

* Rookie.

**Andrea Iannone is provisionally suspended for failing an anti-doping test.



Loading Comments...