Xavier Simeon has replaced Randy de Puniet in the LCR E-Team MotoE rider line-up for 2020 alongside Niccolo Canepa.

The former MotoGP rider moves from Avintia Esponsorama Racing to join Lucio Cecchinello’s team in the all-electric series having finished in sixth place, with the highlight of two podiums, in the inaugural MotoE campaign this year.

The Belgian driver replaces de Puniet who leaves MotoE after one season. Canepa has been retained by LCR E-Team after finishing the first year in ninth place in the standings.

“The FIM Enel MotoE World Cup was a challenge for the organisers, for the teams and for the riders, but everyone’s work produced a unique and exciting championship for two-wheel racing fans and we are very proud to be part of this project,” Cecchinello, LCR team principal, said.

“I really want to thank Niccolo and Randy because they proved to be real professionals at their debut with the electric bikes.

“Today I am happy to announce a brand-new collaboration with Xavier Simeon, and a renewal of the partnership with Niccolo Canepa for the 2020 season: they are both experienced and talented riders who make a perfect combination for the LCR E-Team.”

“After a first year of learning in this brand new electric championship, I am very happy to join the LCR E-Team for my second season in MotoE,” Simeon added. “It is a great opportunity, especially because it's a very professional team offering quality support.

“I’m sure we'll do great things together. With two podiums last season, the main goal next year will be to win as many races as possible and fight for the cup. I want to thank Zelos, my partners and Lucio for their support in this new adventure.”