Sunday marks the start of official 2018 MotoGP testing, at Sepang in Malaysia.

All 23 confirmed race riders are present, plus some test riders, while Yonny Hernandez has been called-up by Tech 3 as they continue the search to replace Jonas Folger.

Rookie Thomas Luthi is making his Marc VDS Honda debut after missing the end of the 2017 season due to injuries at October's Malaysian Moto2 race weekend.

Kohta Nozane and Katsuyuki Nakasuga are the Yamaha Test Riders listed as present, but appear to be alternating between bikes #T2 and #T3.

Morning rain meant it was a wet start to testing, with the track dry enough for slicks from just after 1pm.

Testing began at 10am and concludes at 6pm.

1. NA Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 2m 4.019s [Lap 4/5]
2. NA Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (GP17) 2m 4.704s +0.685s [3/4]
3. ^8 Scott Redding GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 2m 5.141s +1.122s [16/16]
4. ^5 Tito Rabat ESP Reale Avintia (GP17) 2m 5.650s +1.631s [20/20]
5. ^14 Karel Abraham CZE Angel Nieto Team (GP16) 2m 6.249s +2.230s [9/11]
6. ˅5 Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 2m 11.863s +7.844s [21/22]
7. ˅5 Sylvain Guintoli FRA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 2m 11.982s +7.963s [14/15]
8. ˅5 Franco Morbidelli ESP EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 2m 12.166s +8.147s [23/24]
9. ˅5 Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 2m 12.263s +8.244s [26/29]
10. ˅5 Yonny Hernandez COL Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 2m 12.415s +8.396s [8/9]
11. ˅5 Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 2m 12.527s +8.508s [10/17]
12. ˅5 Xavier Simeon ESP Reale Avintia (GP16)* 2m 12.652s +8.633s [13/15]
13. ˅5 Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (GP18) 2m 12.897s +8.878s [4/11]
14. ˅4 Alvaro Bautista ESP Angel Nieto Team (GP17) 2m 13.061s +9.042s [13/15]
15. ˅3 Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 2m 13.406s +9.387s [12/19]
16. ˅3 Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 2m 13.406s +9.387s [3/4]
17. ˅3 Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 2m 13.591s +9.572s [15/17]
18. ˅3 Takaaki Nakagami GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 2m 14.091s +10.072s [14/15]
19. ˅3 Mika Kallio FIN Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 2m 14.312s +10.293s [4/5]
20. ˅3 Tom Luthi SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 2m 14.856s +10.837s [21/22]
21. ˅3 Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 2m 14.942s +10.923s [4/5]
22. ˅2 Yamaha Test 3 JPN Yamaha Test Rider (YZR-M1) 2m 16.177s +12.158s [5/10]
23. ˅2 Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 2m 16.763s +12.744s [3/4]
24. ˅2 Yamaha Test 2 JPN Yamaha Test Rider (YZR-M1) 2m 17.431s +13.412s [5/15]
* Rookie

˄X Rider has X higher positions than end of previous hour.
= Rider has same position as end of previous hour.
˅X Rider has X lower positions than end of previous hour.

Blue = Factory Team.
Red = Satellite Team.

Official Sepang MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 2m 0.606s (2015)
Fastest race lap:
Dani Pedrosa SPA Honda 1m 59.053s (2015)

Unofficial Sepang MotoGP record:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 58.867s (2015 testing)

By Peter McLaren