Update from Petronas Yamaha: 'After his crash in FP1, Fabio was taken to the medical centre for checks. X-rays show no fractures, but he’ll undergo further treatment to a hematoma in his left ankle. He’s been declared fit, but won’t participate in the FP2 due to the painkillers he was administered. We’ll monitor his condition and update before FP3'.

Fabio Quartararo has been declared fit to continue the Australian MotoGP weekend after undergoing medical checks following a nasty fall during wet opening practice at Phillip Island.

The rookie star, who has claimed six podiums this season and battled Marc Marquez for victory on the final lap at Misano and Buriram, was thrown from his Petronas Yamaha by an off-throttle highside at Turn 6.

The 20-year-old Frenchman immediately grabbed his lower left leg after landing awkwardly and was carried away on a stretcher before being transported to the circuit medical centre.

Fortunately, no fractures were found and Quartararo's been given the green light by doctors:

Quartararo secured the Rookie of the Year title last Sunday in Japan and currently holds both sixth place in the world championship and top satellite honours.

The #20 underwent arm-pump surgery earlier this season and suffered a 'small dislocation' to his shoulder during practice for the German MotoGP, but was able to continue.

Quartararo set the seventh fastest lap time in opening practice, 1.6s behind the factory Yamaha of Maverick Vinales.

Australian MotoGP - Free Practice (1) Results
1Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)1'38.957s13/20323k
2Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP19)+0.147s12/15315k
3Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.385s17/17317k
4Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.928s17/19313k
5Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (GP19)+0.953s12/16325k
6Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.363s16/23316k
7Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)*+1.618s18/19313k
8Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+1.630s17/20323k
9Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*+1.718s20/21314k
10Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (GP19)+1.733s7/18316k
11Karel AbrahamCZEReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)+1.842s16/17304k
12Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+1.903s14/21320k
13Johann ZarcoFRALCR Honda (RC213V)+2.095s13/21323k
14Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)+2.116s13/16315k
15Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)*+2.161s15/20306k
16Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP18)*+2.223s12/21317k
17Hafizh SyahrinMALRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)+2.414s19/21310k
18Jorge LorenzoSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+3.001s14/16316k
19Mika KallioFINRed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+3.349s20/20303k
20Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)+4.590s21/21300k
21Andrea IannoneITAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+4.822s9/13319k
22Aleix EspargaroSPAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+5.191s8/13323k